Word of The Day-Expedite

Word of the Day- ExpediteHi Again! Okay, so yesterday we said that we were going to “subdue” our destiny. I shared with you how procrastination was something that inhibited me from taking action in the past. So imagine my surprise when I was searching for a Word of the Day and I stumbled upon the word EXPEDITE. How appropriate!

How many times have you ordered something online and you wanted it so bad, that you may have paid an extra $20-$30 to have the shipping expedited? I know I have. I was so impatient that just to have that “thing” an extra day was so satisfying to me.

In 2013, I set the intention that I will approach every area of my life with the same sense of urgency. It is ironic that the things we tend to expedite certain things and not others. For instance, I am writing a book and to be honest it was supposed to be done months ago! I kept putting it off and procrastinating. However, I have been urgent with things that are not as relevant….hmmm.  So what has to change? We need to make a list of five projects, goals, etc., that will make a huge impact on our lives. Now that we have that list we know what needs to be expedited, let’s figure out how to tackle these things

“To accelerate the process or progress of”

Here are a few tips that will help us expedite things that are of priority in our lives.

  • Make a To Do List….everyday!!! If we don’t know what needs to be done, how the heck can we hurry up and complete it. If you are like me, you may think that you can remember everything, but you just can’t. A tool that I like to use is Evernote. You can download it right onto your smartphone or tablet and you have your To Do List along with other cool features right at your finger tips.
  • Sacrifice Sleep: I know that it sounds harsh, but sleep is a luxury. I have interviewed many successful people and they all have told me that on their road to success, that had to sacrifice sleep. Does that mean sleep all together and we need to become zombies? No, not at all. However, we do not need 8-10 hours of sleep, especially when there is work to be done. So if your To Do List has plenty of pertinent things that need to be “crossed off” , do not go to sleep until they are finished. Look this is a temporary sacrifice for a long term gain. You will be okay….trust me.
  • Get an Accountability Partner: You need someone who is going to refocus you, if you decide to procrastinate or fall behind. Make sure that you choose someone who is at a higher level than yourself. You want to be pushed towards greatness. It may sting at first, but it will be worth it.

There are other strategies and tips, but this will get you going on the right track.

Candace M. Braddock

Design Your Life, Build Your Future

P.S. If you would like more tips or inspirational advice sign up for my newsletter!

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a comment