The Balancing Act

Have you ever heard people say, “You are doing too much”? I hear it all of the time. I am a victim of knowing how to do many things fairly well. Basically, I was the “Jane of All Trades, Master of Nothing”. If you are like I was, you get plagued with paralysis, meaning you want to do so many things you do NOTHING. I began thinking to myself, “Am I doing too much?” Through detailed reflection, I discovered that I needed to OMIT all of the things that were not bringing value to my life. This could mean monetary, spiritual, and/or healthy living contributions. This was difficult for me to do , but I realized that I spent too much time meeting about things that were never going to happen. I began to value OTHER people’s visions and dreams more than I did my own. Because of this, my goals and aspirations were being pushed off of MY To Do List. If you were like me I am going to give you one piece of advice and STOP!!! Oprah is one of my mentors from afar and she has her hands in EVERYTHING! How does she do it?

“Success comes when you surrender to that dream—and let it lead you to the next best place.”

 

Read more: Here

When you surrender to your dreams, balance is key….

Everyone wants to be a mogul, but people forget that all moguls started at the bottom. They decided that they wanted to do something and then they mastered it. Once the first venture is mastered and put on autopilot, they decide to challenge themselves and master something else. Rinse and Repeat.

Here is my strategy for wanting to do it all:

  1. Breathe-relax. Take your time and assess everything that you are doing.
  2. Meditate-Some people call it prayer, others call it “quieting the mind”. Whatever you call it do it, for at least 15 minutes when you wake up and 15 minutes before you go to bed. You need to remind yourself of your purpose and of your greatness. You have to think positively about everything that you do and meditation is the best way to do this.
  3. Pick ONE thing-Focus on it, be passionate about it, and MASTER IT!!! Forget everything else. You cannot be great at multiple things at once unless they are mastered. This requires discipline because by nature we want to try the “next best thing”, but we shouldn’t do that until we know that without a doubt we gave the first venture our best. You’ll neve know how great you are if you keep starting something then moving to something else.
  4. Stick to a Theme: If you are interested in sports, have a blog and want to expand, look into having a sports internet radio station, incorporate sports videos into your blog, come out with a sports apparel line, and/or develop a sports drink. Notice, all of the aforementioned ventures are escalating in magnitude BUT the follow the same theme. It is confusing to people if one day you are talking about sports then the next day you are talking about self development., UNLESS you can strategically tie them into one another.

I have failed a lot in these areas, so I know a lot about what not to do. Once you have your balancing act in place you will see nothing but success. It took tons of discipline and self evaluation to follow these strategies but my life took a complete turn for the better once I did.

Do you think you can do it all?? If so share below!!!!

Tags: , , , , , , ,

One response to “The Balancing Act”

  1. YourPassionToReality says :

    You are speaking my language. I teach very similar concepts and have trouble living it sometimes. Life is full of challenges and surprises but as you said, we must focus on our dreams if we are to stay congruent. Thank you for the article. I plan to follow.

    Art Noel

Leave a Reply

